The Crow: Wicked Prayer Was Hard for Me to Take Seriously

 


This is one of the few horror movies that I wasn’t able to finish. This movie…feels kind of like a rip off to the original masterpiece. I should have already known that this movie was going to suck. I had already heard from several family members that the first three were pretty good, but they never bothered to mention the fourth movie. 

I finally get why they never told me about checking out the fourth one. 

The Crow: Wicked Prayer is so freaking dumb. The acting in this movie was so questionable. And that’s because we had three decent actors that I was already familiar with in the horror genre. 

  • Danny Trejo from Dusk Till Dawn.
  • David Boreanaz from the Bones TV show. 
  • Edward Furlong from Terminator 2, where he played the kid. 

All three of them gave out great performances in their own horror movies, so why did they seem off in this movie???

Most likely it had to do with the script, but I think it had to do with Edward Furlong, who was playing the main character. For a Crow movie, you need to get someone who can play a tragic character. Every person who comes back as the Crow has gone through a horrible end, and when they return back from the dead, they are struggling to adjust to their new temporary life. 

Edward Furlong came off like he was playing angsty teenager. I had seen the movie playing on TV when I came over to visit a family member, and I stared at the screen with a deadpan face when he got mad at the crow for turning him into a monster, and he threw down a shovel. 

He didn’t throw the shovel in a temper tantrum way, but that scene still made me cringe. I completely forgot how bad Furlong was as the Crow. His voice did not suit the character either, because he still sounded so young. 

I remember a random scene from the movie years ago, that made me start laughing, because of how bad the line was delivered. Furlong kept on telling everyone that he wanted to collect the eyes of David Boreanaz, as revenge for killing both him and his girlfriend. He sounded like a little kid whenever he delivered those lines, and I struggled to take his character seriously, whenever he delivered that threat. 

In the first 2 movies, (I don’t remember how the dude was like from the third movie), both of the main characters had the perfect voices for the Crow. Whenever they became threatening towards the villains they were hunting, it was very believable to think that these men were someone not to mess with. 

In my opinion, I think David Boreanaz should have played the Crow. He already had the look going for him in the movie as the villain, and his voice would have suited the character too. Furlong should have played some random character from the gang, and they could have gotten someone else to play the villain. I don’t think the film would have been great, but at least we would have possibly gotten much better performances, if several roles had been switched around. 

Plus, the script felt very similar to the original film. They use the same plot point of the girlfriend and the boyfriend getting killed by a gang, and the boyfriend comes back from the dead for revenge. At least the sequel did something different with their revenge plot, including the third film, that was actually a really cool idea for a revenge film. 

The Crow: Wicked Prayer is for sure a bad film in the franchise, but it’s not worse than the Crow remake at least. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Final Season of 'You' Ends on a Powerful Note

Pearl is a Wicked and Horrific Start to a Memorable Horror Trilogy

‘The Return of the Pumpkin Rabbit’ is an Animated Cartoon that is Absolutely Terrifying